On The Records: Jennifer Lee (TOKiMONSTA)

Hi Jennifer, how are you doing? Where you are right now and how’s the day so far?

Hello!  I’m doing well.  I am at home in Los Angeles and the day is pretty nice, I think.  I haven’t been outside yet and it’s 3pm.

Can you tell us a little bit about what you were like when you were grew up in South Bay as little girl? Is it shaping your music or influence you in any way?

I grew up in a neighborhood that was very family friendly.  It was a classic family suburb, so it was pretty boring.  I was drawn to different music than the rest of my classmates and was happy with having a different preference than the others listening to top 40s radio songs.  In that way, I still enjoy making music that isn’t like what people are already used to hearing.

What did you last dream about?

Last night I had an interesting dream.  I don’t remember much, but I believe i was somewhere unfamiliar and the pieces of furniture were arguing with each other.

What the first thing attract you to making your own music?

The ability to make something creative and also what you’d like to hear.  It’s self satisfaction.

Tell me the story behind TOKiMONSTA name; honestly I thought you’re Japanese when I heard your name, but it turns out you’re Korean descent, uumm…what your opinion about Korean Wave?

“Toki” is the Korean word for “rabbit,” but I think people associate the word with Tokyo (or the likes of other Japanese sounding words).  The name was something I grew up with and eventually made into my artist name.  I didn’t think too much about it, it just was the first thing I thought of to call myself as a musician.  As for the Korean wave, I think it’s insane!  Too bad I’m not really apart of it.  I’m Korean, but seem to be placed outside of that wave.

What/who your biggest influences?

Most of my influences come from hip hop and electronic producers such as J Dilla, DJ Shadow, DJ Krush, Premier, and Aphex Twin.

What do you love most about what you do? And what do you like least?

I love to be able to create something and share that with others.  It’s also quite nice to not have my work and work hours dictated by other people.  The thing I like the least would be some of the petty criticism I come across.

Any particular musician/song you like to remix now?

For fun, I enjoy remixing 90s r&b.  Maybe I’ll try something with Missy Elliot.

What you’re doing beside music?

For leisure, I suppose I enjoy meeting with friends, cooking, drawing, shopping, and watching cartoons.

What do you hope for?

I hope that people will continue to listen to my music as it continues to evolve.

http://www.tokimonsta.com/

Shout out your thoughts!

