Art Talk: The Intricate Embroidery of Izziyana Suhaimi

Embroidery art is not a new thing, for sure, but in amidst of blooming illustrators/artists start dwelling with this mixed media approach, one of the front-runners is Izziyana Suhaimi, a Singaporean artist that combining an intricate embroidery details for her pencil and water colors drawing of (most of it) young girls. I’m a fan since the first time I saw her works and can’t wait to have a little chat with her, it goes like this.

Hi Izzi, how are you? Would you mind to tell us a bit about yourself and what are you doing?
Well, a little bit about myself. I love to read, I love grey days. I am currently doing a mentorship program with a local gallery. I am experimenting more with embroidery and mediums in general, which is all very exciting and keeping me busy.

How was it started? Since when you start making art?
Like most kids, I love to draw. But I’ve never had any proper art training until university, when I took a degree in Photography. I also started embroidering while in university. After graduating, I wanted to put my works out into the world, and so that’s what I did and that’s how it all started.


 
How the usual creative process is goes for you? Do you always incorporate embroidery for your works?
So far, yes, I find that embroidery works very well in most of the works I make. But I’ve been working with it for a few years now and who knows, I might find another medium, or I might stick with embroidery for a really long time.
Usually, I will get an image in my head, which I find interesting to explore and I will go off in some directions (research, sketch, staring into space) to find out what this one image is about. But lately I find myself trying to pin down one idea or one thing that I want to express and figure out how to say this in a visual form. So it’s the opposite from how I usually work.

Where do you usually get the inspirations?
From things I read, music I listen to, inspiration can come from anywhere!

Do you have any specific era or culture that kind of influence your works?
I think that would be the now. I like to observe what the current trends are, what people especially the youths gravitate towards and are concerned about, what the world is obsessed with – contemporary culture. And from there, I like to relate it back to history and traditional culture. I find that the now is a constant mix of all eras, a sum of all history and even the future. It is always in flux, so there is a very rich source of inspiration.

Do you have some dream project or things you always want to try/make?
I have a lot! One of the things I would really like to do is to embark on a project where a lot of artists from everywhere work together to create one thing. It’ll be interesting to see what comes out of that.

Beside art, what else you’re fond of?
Books!

How do you deal with creative block?
Enjoy it! When I don’t feel like making anything, I try and go and do something else. Things are happening but on a subconscious level, everything is “stewing”. Once inspiration hits, sometimes I find that I will be dying for a break.

If you can collaborate with any person in the world (designer/artist/anything), who will you chose and why?
Ah that’s a tough one, there are so many. I think my dream collaboration would be with musicians I love – Metric, The National, Mew… I’m also fascinated with Islamic Arts and Arabic calligraphy, so maybe to collaborate with an expert in these fields would be interesting too.

What we can expect from you in the future?
This is another tough one! Well lots of things but they’re all a bit vague now so I can’t really give details. But I am definitely definitely excited to find out what’s in store.

http://my-bones.tumblr.com/

One thought on “Art Talk: The Intricate Embroidery of Izziyana Suhaimi

  1. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll
    just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any points for rookie blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

Shout out your thoughts!

