Influences: Deap Vally

The narrative fact of Lindsey Troy (vox & guitar) met Julie Edwards (drum) at a needlework class is pretty much could misleading you to false pretense. It’s might sounds like a perfect background story of some indie pop girl duo, but interestingly, they bonded over their mutual affection to blues, banging rock and roll, and pretty much anything from The Doors. Now, after two singles “Gonna Make My Own Money” and “End of The World”, which described by critic as “a scuzzy White Stripes meets Led Zeppelin”, the Los Angelese duo set their eyes for their upcoming debut album, while sharing stages with Thurston Moore,  Dinosaur Jr., The Vaccines, and Muse, among others.

What’s your first impression to each other?

Julie: I thought Lindsey seemed pretty high maintenance.

Lindsey: I thought Julie seemed annoyed. Turned out she was! I walked into a knitting shop that Julie was working at and was asking her loads of questions about the different balls of yarn. I guess I was a high-maintenance customer, but hey, I spent money! I also thought she had great hair. I went into the shop a few days later for a crochet class. There were only 3 of us there. Julie and I stayed at the shop late that night, chatting for hours about our musical histories while we crocheted. We really clicked — she was one of raddest people I’d met in years. After that I kept popping into her work all the time to visit her and the rest is history.

What made you want to start a band together?

Lindsey: Since I was a little girl I’ve wanted to play rock n roll. It’s always been my biggest hunger, what I dreamt about. It must be in my DNA. Life didn’t make sense before Deap Vally. Now it makes sense.

What did you listen to as a teenager and how did that affect you now?

Julie: Nine Inch Nails, The Doors, Soundgarden.  I like heavy music with a good beat, and that is the music I make.

Lindsey: The Beatles, The Doors, Hole, Nirvana, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The White Stripes. I’ve always loved rock’n’roll — the grittiness of it, the attitude, the inherent sexiness of it.

Do you still knitting right now? What’s your favorite pattern or things to knit?

Julie: scarves and handwarmers

noro

Lindsey: I’ve been knitting a lot of infinity-scarves recently. There’s a yarn I’m currently obsessed made by a Japanese company called Noro. It’s multi-colored hand-painted wool. It’s the most beautiful yarn I’ve ever seen. I bought every ball they had at the store, then made loads of Christmas presents with it! I think I’m ready to move into sweater territory though. I have a half-finished sweater that I started ages ago. It’s been neglected in my closet for a year and a half. I’ve decided I’m going to unravel the whole thing and start over. It’s been so long that I’m bored with the original design. Check back in a couple months and I’ll send you a picture…

What was the first concert you ever went to?

paula-abdul-undated-young.grid-6x2

Julie: Paula Abdul!

anthony-kiedis-red-hot-chili-peppers-young-and-cute--Favim.com-211827

Lindsey: Legend has it I rocked pretty hard in mother’s womb at a Bob Dylan concert she went to while pregnant with me. The first concert I ever went to without my parents was The Red Hot Chili Peppers. I was madly in love with both Flea and Anthony Kiedis. That was also my first time crowd surfing, and I lost my shoe in the process. I was 12.

Can you name any particularly influential albums for you?

nineinchnailsdownwardspiral8az

Julie: Led Zeppelin’s Physical, Nine Inch Nails’s The Downward Spiral.

hole

Lindsey: Hole’s Live Through This, Led Zeppelin’s Led Zeppelin I, The Beatles’ Abbey Road, The Doors’ Self-Titled, Elliott Smith’s Either/Or, Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ Fever to Tell.

Did you have any musical background?

Lindsey: I started playing piano when I was four. All throughout my childhood I was in a family band. It was real folky stuff, very family-friendly. We did mostly covers. The first time I plugged my electric guitar into an amp my life changed…for the better.

What was the first instrument you picked up? Did you teach yourself?

Lindsey: Piano. I started taking lessons when I was 4. My teacher was amazing. Super 80’s. She had died black hair with bangs and long red finger-nails. A total gem. I wonder what she’s doing these days…I think I should get back in touch with her…

Who are your style icons?

Keith+Richards+img031

Julie: Tina Turner, Madonna, Keith Richards.

thelma-and-louise01

Lindsey: Thelma & Louise, Kelly Bundy, The Ramones, Madonna.

Do you have any favorite music video or movie or documentary?

somekindofmonster

Julie: Some Kind of Monster!!!

Madonna

Lindsey: Madonna’s “Truth or Dare”

What’s on your iPod right now?

Julie: Chelsea Wolfe, Goat, Here We Go Magic.

Lindsey: The Black Angels, Queens of the Stone Age, Fiona Apple.

What records always cheers you up?

the-meters

Julie: Anything by The Meters (the original Meters from back in the day).

stooges
Lindsey: Anything by The Stooges

Who’s in charge for the lyric and what’s the main inspiration?

Lindsey: We write everything together. Our inspiration comes from our lives and how we view the world–what we’ve experienced, what we see our friends experience, the things that go through our brains.

What does it feel like to be onstage?

Lindsey: The best thing ever.

What advice do you have for people wanting to start bands?

Lindsey: Just do it. Sit down and learn how to play an instrument. Don’t be afraid to make noise. Put the time in. Lose yourself in it. You won’t regret it.

Next project?

Deap Vally. 2013. World Domination.

http://deapvally.com/

Shout out your thoughts!

