On The Records: Rizky Argadipraja/Greybox

 

“Keluarga saya tidak berlatar musisi jadi saya tidak bisa bilang jika mereka menginfluens saya untuk membuat musik. Tapi saat saya umur 12 tahun, ayah saya mengoleksi piringan hitam dari UK rock scenes, jazz, classical dan memainkannya di record player tua miliknya. Hal itu membuat saya tertarik untuk mendengarkan berbagai genre tersebut tapi dia tidak mengizinkan saya untuk menyentuh record player miliknya, until one day, I tried to mess with it myself. I honestly had no idea what I was doing but that actually made me more curious,” kenang Rizky Argadipraja tentang awal ketertarikannya pada musik. Curiouser and curiouser, rasa penasaran pria kelahiran Jakarta, 23 tahun lalu ini terbayar manis saat dirinya menjadi music producer dan sounds engineer yang dikenal dengan nama alias Greybox.

Sempat bergabung di jazz band, pengaruh jazz yang smooth menjadi salah satu elemen dari produksi musiknya saat ini yang merupakan paduan eklektik dari electronic, Hip Hop, house, RnB, soul dengan influens meliputi J Dilla, DJ Krush, dan Theo Parrish. Setelah merilis beberapa volume kompilasi dengan judul Crusted Swing dan begabung di roster dua label US, Ninetofive Records dan Mellow Orange, di tahun 2015 lalu, pria yang berkuliah di New York ini merilis debut EP bertajuk Elevate yang berisi 4 track dengan genre beragam, namun tetap mengusung vibes yang slick and chilled andalannya.

 Membangun karier di negeri orang, tak lantas membuatnya melupakan scene lokal begitu saja, whether collaborating with local talents atau membagikan pengalamannya. “Apa yang saya sukai dari New York adalah state of appreciation yang dimiliki para New Yorkers. Appreciation is what I learned the most after being a few years there. But you know, there is nothing feels better than home. Banyak yang saya rindukan dari Jakarta. Nomor satu yang jelas adalah makanan. The spicy Indonesian food and the price. Food in New York is mad expensive. Tapi pada akhirnya saya akan pulang ke Jakarta anyways, so I’m hyped for that and everything in the future to come!

 

SAMSUNG CSC

Apa yang mendorongmu untuk membuat musik sendiri?

 

Back in 2012, saya menemukan software Ableton di Mac lama saya. It was intimidating at first, but got hooked after a few tries. Awalnya saya tidak tahu mau buat apa, jadi saya menghabiskan setahun untuk mempelajari software itu. Lalu saya pergi ke New York di akhir 2012 dan untuk pertamakalinya dikenalkan ke Hip Hop oleh sepupu saya yang tinggal di sana. And not just Hip Hop the genre but the culture itself. Saya mulai nyaman dengan NY Hip Hop scene dan mulai membuat Trip-hop pada awalnya. Dari situ, saya mulai mengeksplor genre lain seperti House, Soul, RnB, dan sejenisnya. Dan menggabungkan semua genre tersebut menjadi satu, into my own sound.

What’s the story behind Greybox moniker?

 

It goes way back when I was in middle school, I made a production house called Greybox Production. Had a small team, and we used to make short films. Long story short, we end up going our own ways.

 

After I made my first track in 2013 called “Simplicity”, I was so excited to upload it on Soundcloud but haven’t think of an alias yet, so I end up using Greybox just for a temporal account name. But then people started to recognize me with that moniker, so I decided to stick with the name until now. It took me a while to finally accept that name, and to really find a meaning behind it. But after awhile, I realized that the tracks that I made compile a meaning of my alias.

 

To describe it in a quick yet casual way, Grey as a neutral color that comes from a mixture of many colors combined into one, being open minded towards any type of sounds. Covered by a box that will keep the groove stable.

Who are your musical influences that really shape your taste and works?

 

Lots of great artist from the Hip-Hop divisions, House, and also old school RnB cats. I found influences not just from one source but a chain of sources. I always try to learn something new from producers that I look up to also from producers that are on the same boat as I am. I want to broaden my style so I would just look at other artists that have a completely different taste as mine and just try to learn their style. I target myself to at least stumble one new artist/producer every each day.

 

Individually, I would always credit J-Dilla as my main influence. I appreciate his work cause he combine different genres but always have that one element that keeps it in motion, it could be the drums, or maybe the bass.

How would you describe your sounds?

I would describe my sound as a spacey yet soulful tones wrapped in repetitive swing. I love loops. I express my sound in a few bars, and keeping it unique. Fitting a complete message in that few bars, repeating, and still achieve a new motion every each repetition. Basically, making loops that don’t sound like a loop.

elevate

Berapa lama kamu mengerjakan Elevate EP?

Saya mengerjakannya kurang dari seminggu. Yang menarik adalah saya mengerjakan track “Discrete” dan “Enigmatic” di Starbucks sambil memakai headphone di NY. Ide tidak selalu datang di studio musik, it’s crazy how you can just sit at Starbucks with your coffee and then just build an idea of a new track. Sejak itu saya lebih open-minded di setiap tempat yang saya kunjungi, bahkan kamar mandi sekalipun. Saat mengerjakan sebuah track, saya tidak pernah menghabiskan lebih dari dua menit karena saya cepat bosan. Setelah Elevate EP, saya jadi semakin serius and step up my game dengan membuat track lebih dari dua menit… And also go to Starbucks more often.

Kamu di New York kuliah Sinematografi, apa korelasi antara sounds dan visual di musik menurut kamu sendiri?

 I find that cinematography is a thing that I love to switch activities to. Saya merasa belajar soal film bisa membantu musik saya juga. And it turned out good. In cases like shortage on a film budget, hiring a sound recordist in New York cost you an arm and a leg. So it really helped me many ways by being able to do sound and visual.

So far, pengalaman main paling seru di mana dan kenapa?

 

I don’t do gigs that often, tapi kalau pengalaman paling seru so far when I did a show in Brooklyn, NY di sebuah private rooftop party. The vibe was great, people were dancing and they really felt the music. Pengalaman itu sangat berkesan karena ada this one afro-latino girl came all the way up to the DJ booth and just start pulling up dance move right away and just vibin’ all night. It excites me looking at people appreciating my music.

What’s your dream collaboration?

 

A producer named IAMNOBODI. It’s just something about his drums that always give me the chills.

Apa kamu sedang mengerjakan sesuatu saat ini?

 

Ya, saya sedang mengerjakan sebuah proyek bernama Ocean EP dengan seorang musisi dari major label. Karena masih sedang dalam proses, saya tidak bisa membocorkan lebih banyak, but yeah you’ll be expecting a fresh material coming up soon.

Greybox’s Fave Records:

489152 

Trouvaille

Freddie Joachim

Album ini baru keluar bulan ini, terlepas dari kami ada di label yang sama, dia hanya merilis album ini dalam format vinyl. Owning the vinyl version and all tracks from Trouvaille album is top notch.

drum-library

Drum Library Volume 12

This one is a collection of drum samples/loops both sides. A hip-hop drum breaks from Super Break Records. Since I do sampling alot, this record has always been a foundation to my drum chops.  Always have this record with me wherever I travel.

quincy

Walking In Space

Quincy Jones

An all time favorite, saya dikenalkan album ini oleh ayah saya dan menjadi inspirasi ever since. All the elements on this album influence the sounds of my releases. Also lots of chops I use for my track from this piece.

avatars-000270425634-plp3fk-t500x500

https://soundcloud.com/greybox

One thought on “On The Records: Rizky Argadipraja/Greybox

  1. Saya baru aja buka soundcloud-nya greybox. Hip-hop, rap, house, electronic-nya keren! Hebat banget ini Rizky Argadipraja. Usianya masih muda juga. Berarti hasil dari sinematografi punya peran penting dalam sound dan visual yang diciptakan ya? 😀

Shout out your thoughts!

